Singapore Food Diairies: Day 4

1 Nov

Today, my last post about Asia until three months (in three months I’ll normally be in Japan, but it’s not sure a 100% yet). It is quite sad to remember that day when I flew back to Paris, I was under such a stress!

Anyway, my last day in Singapore, even if it was not that quick, seems quite short compared to the other days.

So firstly, we went to visit the Indian area, and had lunch at Komala Villas. I wanted so hard to try the roti prata, a Singaporean sort of bread created by the Indian immigrants.

It was delicious! It seemed like a mix between puff pastry and flat bread. There was this sauce with veggies on the side of the platter. They called it parotta set, and it cost 3 SGD$ each.

I also ordered a mango lassi which was nice too. It cost 2,4 SGD$.

When we came back home, my friend’s mother had bought a box of mooncakes from the Raffles hotel.

Such a nice box, isn’t it? It is filled in with 8 snowskin mooncakes with champagne truffle and ganache.

From outside, it looks like an old French cheese, right?

But on the inside, it is a bit different from what you could guess while reading the name of the mooncake. There is a lotus paste (the dark yellow paste).

And then, the circular thing inside is a champagne ganache, circled by white chocolate. It was amazing. For sure the best mooncake I have ever eaten.

Then we prepared an early dinner so that I could eat before taking the plane (it took off at 9pm). So we made onigiri!

Onigiri is a kind of Japanese snack with rice, in a shape of a triangle, and which is sometimes stuffed with salted plum or salmon flakes for instance.

We had two different onigiri: salmon flakes inside (to make it, just put rice into a bowl as seen above, and salmon flakes in the middle, and then take the rice on your hands and “fold it” as the picture below), and a meat flavour that you can mix with all the rice.

You need to wet your hands before touching the rice so it is less sticky.

Ta-da!

I completely failed to making them… the small one on the bottom of the picture is mine, unfortunately…

Here is the whole dinner we had, so delicious! pumpkins with a delicious sauce, onigiri, cabbage, breaded meat with peas and carrots…

I finished my stay in Asia with a delicious Green Tea Cream from Starbucks.

2 Responses to “Singapore Food Diairies: Day 4”

  1. Melina July 13, 2013 at 16:58 #

    Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to
    get started and create my own. Do you require
    any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • eatingmodern July 13, 2013 at 18:54 #

      Yes I am!
      No, I have a free theme and I bought a professional version of wordpress, so I changed the font and it gave me more memory for the pictures.

Leave a Reply

