Chez Duc, Vietnamese restaurant in Paris

12 Oct

 

 

Today, I will tell you about a restaurant I discovered this week.
I wasn’t supposed to post today, but I have so many things to write about, that I thought I would write about something really new. But guess what, this restaurant is Vietnamese!

 

 

 

The place is quite nice, and it is located inside a covered alley where there are many restaurants and fun shops. In an alley near this one where there is a miniature toys’ shop.

The menu is full of the basic Vietnamese specialities. It is short but it has what’s essential.

To start, I had a Banh Cuon, to describe it, people usually say it is a Vietnamese crepe. I would say it is a bit like rice paper (what you can find around springrolls) but thicker. It is usually steamed and stuffed with meat.
At Chez Duc it was really good! It is a starter and costs 9€.

I then had another starter, which is a green mango salad with shrimps, it was quite fresh and tasty too. It costs 10,5€.

One of my friends took a Nem nuong. Nem nuong is the name for meatballs. It was tasty, my friend had to roll it with rice vermicelli and lettuce, as if we were in Vietnam. The meat was a bit red and it made me think about those in Vietnam made with Com Tam meat (grilled pork previously marinated with sugar and nuoc mam). Quite good. It costs 13,5€.

Then, two of my friends took a “Bo Bun”, I am still wondering why it is called this way in France, the right word for that in Vietnam is “Bun Thit Nuong”. Quite good also. The beef has been marinated before, my friends didn’t like it, but I did! It costs 12,5€ each.

Finally, we took some tea and infusions (2,65€ for the Jasmine tea, and 3€ for an infusion). One of my friends also took a glass of wine which costs 3,5€.

Below, you can find the bill!

Mark: 4.5/5
The owner is really nice (French obviously but with a Vietnamese origin), she ran after me because I had forgotten my umbrella.They also have some desserts, but I didn’t see the menu, and offer also some rice alcohol and Saigon beer.
My only disappointment was that I could not find Tra Da (Vietnamese iced tea). There weren’t many people inside, and it’s too bad, Vietnamese food is really taste, healthy and the restaurant is a nice place.

Chez Duc:
6, passage des panoramas
75002 Paris

2 Responses to “Chez Duc, Vietnamese restaurant in Paris”

  1. restaurant hallal October 13, 2012 at 23:25 #

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    site? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest
    as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate it!

    • eatingmodern October 14, 2012 at 17:14 #

      What is your website address? Most of my posts are about Vietnam, so I don’t understand what would be interesting for you to quoting me..?

Leave a Reply

