Chocolate and peanut pastries: Part 1

9 Aug

I am a big fan of the chocolate and peanuts’ mix. One of my favourite candies is the Reese’s peanut butter cups (I miss it so much!). I even found some in Cambodia, but it was the peanut butter cups with milk chocolate so it was pretty disgusting (hoped to find some in Thailand, but I did not even have time to spend a few minutes in the local Tesco Lotus (although I love going into foreign supermarkets), and I’m sure I would have been able to find Reese’s there (I could find everywhere in the 7/11 the Reese’s Nutrageous that I don’t like).

Anyway, I recently discovered that Adam from Paris Pâtisseries (my pastries’ bible), has done serious work with Kléber Marguerie, the new chef at Un Dimanche à Paris.

He has been trying to convince every single chef pâtissier he knows to make something with chocolate and peanut butter. Last year, Quentin Bailly, the former chef, made a special edition with Roussillon apricots, peanuts and chocolate, it was called L’Ami Caouette (in reference to a song from Serge Gainsbourg). Even though I’m not a big fan of the chocolate/fruit mix, I decided to try it.

My first thought was that the pastry in itself was really small, as were the others from Un Dimanche à Paris. It was my first time there and I got used to the work of the magnificent Jacques Genin (which I discovered through one of my former colleagues last summer who were also working for him). Jacques Genin makes big pastries, it can be expensive, but you do feel you’ve eaten enough after that. What I love the most is his Paris-Brest, which looks like a thick hamburger (it may be like at least 8cm tall on 10cm!). I would like to try out the walnut tartlet, but for once it is way too small (and too expensive) for me (furthermore when you can have the giant Paris-Brest).

Anyway, all the Un Dimanche à Paris’ pastries look really small. They don’t seem small on the pictures, but believe me; you do feel you’re at Cartier choosing expensive but small diamond rings when seeing all those pastries.

The apricot/chocolate mix did not seem weird to me, because the chocolate taste was light. I did not quite follow/identify everything that was in it. Adam from Paris Pâtisseries said there were “apricot mousseux” and “peanut blanc d’oeuf”, but there is one of them I could not find anywhere in the pastry.

There was also tinted white chocolate around it and a milk chocolate shell at the bottom of the pastry. I think that the peanut butter mousse had a hint of chocolate in it.

Anyway, the pastry seemed a mystery in itself but I found that it did not fulfill entirely its chocolate/peanut (butter)’s mission. You can also find Adam’s post here: http://www.parispatisseries.com/2011/07/22/un-dimanche-a-paris-lami-caouette/

This year, although I still haven’t tried it yet due to my internship located in Vietnam, Adam wrote about the latest Un Dimanche à Paris pastry on which he has been working on: Le péché d’Adam (Adam’s sin, the name is pretty cool). You can find his post about it here: http://www.parispatisseries.com/2012/07/04/un-dimanche-a-paris-le-peche-d%E2%80%99adam/

I can’t find the list of the pastries they sell at Un Dimanche à Paris on their website (hate that!), so you may need to have a look at Adam’s post about it to see what it looks like.

The pastry looks dazzling. It seems to have the perfect crunchy/sweet mix. Apparently Adam tried to have an American-looking pastry with sparkles and fat. Well, that’s everything I like. The pastry still looks a bit French though, like a Ladurée St Honoré. The pastry is composed of peanut crème, peanut dacquoise, salted butter caramel and dark chocolate crème. It looks so delicious.. The first thing I will do when coming back to Paris will be to go directly into all the pastry shops I like and buy all my favourite pastries (Ispahan from Pierre Hermé, Paris-Brest from Jacques Genin), and maybe try some new stuffs (Le péché d’Adam from Un Dimanche à Paris, and maybe le Croissant Ispahan from Pierre Hermé, although I am still proudly against all kinds of stuffed croissants, but I definitely need to get an idea of what’s it like).

Next time I’ll give you my recipe of the perfect peanut butter and chocolate cake that fulfills my craving for those two tastes. I created many recipes of cakes with those two tastes but haven’t tried them yet, so the recipe you’ll get is one I got in a magazine and tried in 2009.

Leave a Reply

