Two cherries’ pancakes

23 Jul

As I told you a few weeks ago, I was planning a recipe that I could make without any oven, and which included a Vietnamese fruit.
I decided to choose the oh-so-cute cherry that looks like a tomato. Which recipe can you make when you have only pans to cook? Pancakes!

I found some small Bonne Maman jam at Annam Gourmet Market in Saigon. Thus I decided to make a Two cherries’ pancakes.

So here are my ingredients for two pancakes (useful if you just want to eat by yourself!):

-1 small bowl of flour (it does not look full, but regarding the results, you’d rather put the entire bowl)

-2 tablespoons of sugar

-1 teaspoon of sodium bicarbonate

-1 egg

-1 tablespoon of oil (never forget I’m in Vietnam, I’d rather use fresh butter!)

-Half a bowl of milk

-A handful of cherries

-Black cherry jam

Firstly, wash the cherries and cut them. I left the skin, it is really thin and as you can see, there is not much pulp inside the fruit. I then left them inside the freezer (hoping to get some juice out of it, which would give more taste to the pancake).

I then took a big bowl, put my whole egg inside, and then added the bicarbonate (to replace yeast). You really need to mix thoroughly to dilute the bicarbonate.

I then added the flour and sugar and mix.

Then pour the milk and the oil and mix.

Here is the final dough! I think mine gave a mix between a crêpe and a pancake, that’s why you need to put more flour than I put on the photos.

after that, you just put the choped cherries and leave the dough for at least 30min (1 hour is great) so that the dough rises.

I had a trouble while cooking. I decided to use a small saucepan which would give me a small but thich pancake. I had never used this one and although I put a lot of oil, the pancake started to stick to the pan, so I took it of spoon by spoon and made a “paté” with it that I cooked in another pan after. So here on the picture is my second try. Cook it at a medium heat.

My dough was thicker than a crêpe one, but it was not thick enough to avoid spilling everywhere on the pan.

Finally, my two pancakes. Even though the dough was not thick enough, the taste was good. I just added the jam on top of them before eating.

The Vietnamese cherry has a special taste, a bit acid and I could feel it when eating. It was well balanced with the pancake that was not really sweet, the jam too sweet, and the acid cherries inside.

Leave a Reply

