Phở Bô

3 Jul

I know, I haven’t spoken about Vietnamese street food since I’m here. Bloggers in Vietnam are always praising street food but I must say it has counterparts.

Anyway, I didn’t say a word about it because I eat streetfood at least three times a week, so for me it isn’t something unusual.

The nearest good street food shop is the Pho and the Com Tam. Thus, I usually eat at least once per week in there.
It’s way cheaper than if I was eating at home, because I would then be cooking Western food.

I call my Pho a street food, even though it is not properly a street food (at least there are walls!). However, for Western people it is really close to the concept of street food.

The pho bo is a traditional broth with flat rice noodles and beef. Pho is actually the name of the rice noodles (whatever shape they have) and bo means beef.

The broth is made with herbs and spices. There are two kind: the Southern (phở Sài Gòn) and the Northern (phở bắc or phở Hà Nội) ones. The most famous is the Northern which, I think, is sweeter. It is usually made with cardamom or star anise.

The pho guy is really nice with us since we eat there at least once a week. He cuts a big piece of beef in front of us and then add it to the soup with the fresh herbs and the noodles. Then, we just add other herbs to our taste (usually we have thai basil and another long herb which I still haven’t identified yet, and we had once fresh mint), lime , chilies (only if you like it spicy!) and soya sprouts.

 

2 Responses to “Phở Bô”

  1. Wilma GALFRE July 3, 2012 at 19:26 #

    Tu n’as pas mis l’adresse ?

    • eatingmodern July 3, 2012 at 20:28 #

      Nope, c’est un resto local, tu trouves les mêmes partout!

Leave a Reply

